I wonder …

I’m writing and drawing in my bullet journal more and more,

And posting on my social media walls and stories – less and less,

Then, I’ve decided to deactivate one and log out in another.

I’m taking a “social media break” like what some say,

I realized that being “offline” is a true luxury, nowadays.

But the truth is … for many days now …

I wonder …

Will I still feel that the people who I think are close to me really care –

even if they will not see my social media wall and stories,

And I will not also see their likes and comments to my posts?

If they don’t see posts and updates regarding my life,

would they still really care about how I’m doing?

Would they exert some effort and buy some of their precious time

to write even short but sincere -“How are you” messages?

I’ve observed that most people nowadays, including myself –

are fond of instantly liking, loving, and now even caring for almost every single post …

but do we really mean it?

Gone are those days when we really take the time to care

and ask how our loved ones are really faring.

We are often satisfied with looking at posts and convincing ourselves of the

perfect and happy representations of our lives in social media –

which oftentimes show beautiful facades of daily struggles and hardships.

How I wish that I could turn back time and still be able to send and receive

personally handwritten letters and notes … with cute drawings and stamps.

Nah,

Maybe I’m just really an old soul,

Who misses and longs for those olden days

and antiquated means of showing love, care, and sincerity

between me and the persons who are closest to my heart –

my fellow kindred spirits.

Leave a comment