A photo and a pack of chips

At the end of a weekend meeting, a boy, younger yet slightly taller than her, approached her cousin and handed a small parcel … then the boy hastily run away.

Older cousin: He told me to give you this.

She: Who is it from?

Older cousin: The nephew of my bestfriend.

She: Okay, thanks.

Upon opening the parcel, she saw a solo photo of the young boy, with a dedication at the back. It reads:
“It’s my souvenir for you, please take good care of my photo. I will see you in the future.”
-signed by someone who admires you

Plus a small pack of cheese-flavored, star-shaped chips – one of her favorites.

She blushed and for the first time understood the meaning of a crush or what others call a puppy love.

He had just finished his vacation at his grandma’s house. And he admired her from afar during his stay.

She was eight then.

Leave a comment